20161101_092944

All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.
-St. Julian of Norwich

All will be well. Maybe not today.
Maybe not tomorrow.

But I choose to hope.

I choose to hope that there is more love today than yesterday.

I choose to hope that peace on earth is possible.

I choose to let go of my fears of those who are different than me.

I choose to keep my heart open and soft.

I choose to offer love and calm into the world.

I choose to believe that God’s kingdom is here and now and that we are invited to be a part of it.

I choose to believe that we are invited to join God in making all things well.

I choose to accept that invitation.

/ / /

A Meditation for Anxious Times

There is a beautiful meditation practice for cultivating lovingkindness and compassion that I am trying to remember to do these days. I use it as a prayer.

When you are feeling anxious or lonely or angry or sad, notice how that feels in your body. Where are those feelings located? What is their texture? Just notice them. Then breathe in these hard feelings.

What do you hope to feel instead? Love, Peace, Calm, Happiness? Can you picture what this looks like? Like a million shards of light dancing on water? Can you imagine what it feels like? A hug? Sitting in sunlight? Exhale that image, that feeling of love.

Do this exchange for as long as you need to.

When you are ready, imagine someone else who is feeling the same pain that you are feeling. Breathe in her pain. Imagine your breath sending your image, your feeling of love toward that person.

Extend this to all people who are feeling the same pain that you are feeling. Exhale your image or feeling of love to all these people.

/ / /

May we all grow in spaciousness, compassion, and love today.

Leave a Reply

