Lately, I have been breathing the prayer “Your kingdom come” with an urgent sense of desperation.  As if holding on to a life preserver.

Your kingdom come.

There is so much in this world that seems out of control.  Is it always this crazy?  There is just so much right now.  Too much.

My gut reaction is to curl up in a ball of hopeless powerlessness.  What can I even do?  Fear and apathy take turns coaxing me back onto my couch to numb myself into a state of pretended unknowing.

We can’t really unknow though, can we?

I don’t know what to do.

So I pray:  “Your kingdom come.”

Jesus taught us this prayer.  He also taught that “The Kingdom of God does not come with your careful observation, nor will people say, ‘here it is,’ or ‘there it is,’ because the Kingdom of God is within you.”[1]

The kingdom of God is within me?  Let it come.

Still the storms of fear.  Silence the ceaseless cacophony of confusion.  Banish apathy.  Soften my heart and break it wide open.

Your kingdom come.

Raise up Love.  Let it overflow in my heart and out through my hands.

Raise up Hope.  Hope that all will be well, somehow.  Someday.  Soon, please? That justice and peace will prevail.  That God’s mercy and love will redeem us, redeem our groaning earth, and make us and all things new.

On earth as it is in heaven.

Your kingdom come.

Show me my part.

May my hands move in time with yours.

Your kingdom come.

May you transform me entirely

until every breath, thought, heartbeat, and touch

is an expression of your kingdom here on earth.

Me. And us.

Amen.

[1] Luke 17: 20-21

Leave a Reply

